2018 EuroSDR Award for the best PhD thesis related to geoinformation science

3 May 2018

Since 2016, EuroSDR has recognised contemporary PhD theses that have significantly contributed to the development of geoinformation science in the context of national mapping and cadastral agencies (NMCAs). In order to enhance collaboration between European academia and NMCAs, as well as to engage young scientists in its research endeavours, EuroSDR is pleased to announce its 2018 competition:

2018 EuroSDR Award
for the best PhD thesis related to geoinformation science 

In order to be eligible, a PhD thesis should have been successfully defended in the period from January 2017 to August 2018. The PhD topic should be related to one or more of the research areas covered by the EuroSDR commissions (see http://www.eurosdr.net). The call is restricted to applicants that completed their PhD study in Europe. Applications should consist of:

  • A cover letter describing the main contribution/impact of the research contained in the thesis from a NMCA perspective (up to 300 words in English);

  • A PDF copy of the successfully defended thesis (in any European language);

  • An extended abstract of the thesis (1 000 – 1 500 words in English);

  • A short video presentation describing the research of the thesis (maximum 3 minutes in English);

  • A certificate evidencing the date of the successful PhD defence;

  • Independent reviews of the thesis (if available, for example from the thesis examiners);

  • Curriculum Vitae of the applicant. 

All application material must be sent to the EuroSDR secretariat (eurosdr@kuleuven.be) to arrive no later than 31st August, 2018. Incomplete applications will not be considered. The submitted application material will be evaluated by a committee approved by the EuroSDR Board of Delegates. Notification of the selected thesis will be issued by 5th October, 2018.

The author of the successful PhD thesis will receive an award of 500 EUR and be invited to present his/her work at the 133rd EuroSDR Board of Delegates meeting, to be held in Berlin from 14th to 16th November, 2018.

Previous PhD award winners: 2016, 2017